Reviews and Testimomials

Owners warm, friendly and accommodating. Great web site. Excellent pre arrival information. Site well set up. Hard standing excellent. Pitches well spaced on 2 tiers.
Each pitch has own tap and drain so excellent value for money. Highly recommended for all of these reasons and then add in spectacular views. At night the lights twinkling down in the valley are lovely. We sat with our curtains open and lights off to watch. Romantic! This was our first visit but will definitely return. We also loved how peaceful it was. Make the effort to walk to Matlock along the footpath. We walked on to Matlock Bath and returned on the train. Great fun.
Recommend Black Cat cafe in a little courtyard in Matlock opposite good antiques centre, well worth a rummage. Veggie all day breakfast a snip at £5 and the guys running it very friendly.
If you like your tea rooms the Cafe in the Park in Matlock well worth a visit.
Finally walk around Arkwright mill ruins at Lumsdale – fascinating and beautiful.
There is much to see and do but you could also just while away some time on this site taking in the peace and the views.

Just wanted to say we had a lovely holiday at Tax farm and wouldn’t hesitate to return when time allows. The views from the site are stunning and you are both so friendly and warm. I am sure your site will do very well in years to come as it is very special. Don’t change a thing.

Wanted to congratulate you on your fabulous CL. Always a concern when booking ‘blind’, but your site exceeded even the glowing website description. Been vanning for ages and Tax Farm is one of the best, pitch amenities, location, hosts and views to die for.
I’ve attached a few more photos for use on your website, if you so wish.
Hope the celebrations go well and we’ll definitely be back again in the not too distant future, if we can get a pitch😉.

Have just returned from 4 nights, such a nice place to stay, the views were outstanding, yes the approach road to each level is steep but worth it. Minimal leveling needed due to the hard work done by the owner to make things easy for you. Very well thought out pitch, and a very friendly owner. We are regular visitors to the area and this is by far the best site we have found and will be coming back. 

We have just returned home from a very relaxing stay at Tax Farm CL. We only live 20 minutes down the road but could have been a world away. The two tiers of pitches on the hillside have beautiful wild flower meadows above and below the pitches. Cornflowers, daisies and poppies visible from all windows of our motorhome. Commanding views over Two Dales and Darley Dale, with Stanton Moor rising above the Derwent Valley in the middle distance. On the horizon we had views as far as Friden and Newhaven…..stunning. The walk down the valley from the site takes in lakes, woods, waterfalls and even a hidden cave. Across the lane above the site are more lovely walks in the Forestry Commission Matlock Moor plantations.

Great little 5 cl site. Great pitches with water tap and grey waste. We went for the weekend with 2 dogs, we loved the walk down to the water fall, and found a cave and just love exploring all the paths at the bottom of the farm. After getting back up the hill lovely to have a drink and bar-b-q. Such a quiet site we will be back.

“Little corner of bliss, tucked away in the Derbyshire countryside, fantastic retreat for the weekend just wish i could keep it secret. Each pitch has own water tap and grey water waste so no need to mess about with aqua roll or waste master, if you don’t already have one get the water connection required for your van and a 4 or 5 metre length of waste pipe and the rest is history,
On each of the two tier are points for chemical toilet disposal along with rubbish bins it does not get any more convenient ! Getting there is fairly simple but do try and approach from the north of the site past Darwin forest country park otherwise there are some steep roads to conquer !
Once one site you will marvel at the view across the valley to the west and the setting sunset.
Just a short walk from the farm drive is a wonderful walk down to natural waterfalls and dams, on from there is the rest of Derbyshire to explore ”

We chose Tax Farm initially because we like to support new CLs.  When we looked at the website and saw what Joolz and Tim had done to construct their CL, we had to make a visit.  They have put a lot of thought into the facilities they offer – water and grey waste on each pitch, chemical disposal and dustbins on each tier.  Tax Farm is convenient for Bakewell (market day on Monday), Chatsworth House, Matlock and Matlock Bath, Buxton and Crich Tramway Museum.  It is also good if you are into star gazing – Joolz is a real enthusiast!  The views are stunning. We will definitely be back again.

What a gem.
We have just spent a long weekend on this little CL. The owners are so helpful. We have a large 5th Wheeler and they went and measured the pitches and made sure we could get on before we booked.
Do follow the given directions! The roads are busy and narrow with parked vehicles.
For a CL the facilities are luxurious. EHU, water, and waste for each pitch. Waste and chemical disposal on each tier. Do what it says on the tin and make sure you know which tier and pitch you are on before arrival. There is limited turning space if you get it wrong.
The views are amazing, even in the rain and when it stops raining the sunset is breathtaking!

Couldn’t ask for better service, the owner went out of his way to help us with a electric cable problem which would of caused us a huge problem. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back. Thank you..

Great place to get away from the big wide world. Ideal dog walk at the top of the lane each pitch has water and electricity plus drain for gray water and there’s a toilet disposal point on each level. Go and enjoy just like we did.

Owners leave you to your own devices but are there when you need them as we did in the recent snow. They came and checked we were okay and got water for us when we ran out and the taps froze. We had to stay an extra night due to roads being impassible but they were very accommodating .
Sights amazing especially covered in thick snow. Nice walk into Matlock but hard trek back up the hills very invigorating. Local walks lovely too especially the one to the waterfall.

16 thoughts on “Reviews and Testimomials”

  1. Janet Jordan said:

    We are coming to stay on your beautiful CL on Saturday…for a whole week! Can hardly wait! See you soon Joolz and Tim. Janet & Mick

  2. Mark Kinsey said:

    Just stopped the weekend of the 13Th & 14th of May, What can I Say simply super, The CL has outstanding views, Lovely to meet Joolz and her husband after so long, Clifford the Dog came for a visit on Saturday evening, The walk down and past Tax cottage and past Fancy Dam was glorious, what an amazing well kept secret, Would we book again OMG yes will be inquiring when we can come next, And the price per night, best CL value in the country 🙂 :):) Book now before this place gets too popular otherwise you just won’t get in , Thanks again Joolz simply and wonderfully fabulous,
    See you soon Mark and Clare. Been back a few hours and can’t stop Talking about your CL Deffo be back soon

    • Thank you very much for your kind words! It really is a pleasure when we hear our visitors have really enjoyed their stay…makes our day!
      Look forward to seeing you again. Joolz and Tim.

  3. Mr StephenMcQuillam said:

    I have to say all good comments above, But the road down to the site is not the best by far, as it is very steep and full of holes which has been filled with concrete and not level at all. The pitches are made up of Type one hard core and is very bad under foot as some of the stones are too large. BUT say this the view is something else, it is outstanding. My wife did have a chat with the farmer and he is going to work on the pitches.

    • Hi Stephen,
      Thank you for your feedback. We are addressing the lane and the loose stone as Tim discussed with your wife , see our latest blog post for updates. We do advertise the lane as being a steep approach and show as many pictures and videos as we can so there are no surprises but we understand this is still a bit daunting for some of our visitors and have happily towed some off this year, if required! The lane does get plenty of wear and tear as we are a working farm but we are endeavoring to rectify this as we recover some of the investments we have already outlaid providing fully serviced pitches , waste on each level and level terracing. The hard-standing medium is chosen to blend in with the natural surroundings and it is only the constant use that has churned up the large stones to make it uneven. As it is our first season , we are hoping this is just teething problems and all large stones brought to the surface will be removed and gone for good!
      Hope this addresses some of your worries…and glad you enjoyed the view!

  4. Thank you so much for one of the best sites we have stayed on. Our initial worries of getting down to the site were allayed by Joolz and after a few scouting visits we were sure we would make it!! Although we have had our caravan for a few years we are still extreme novices especially when it comes to reversing. The views from all the caravans are to die for and although we only live in Chesterfield we are sure we will visit again and again, just to experience the peace and tranquillity the site offers. Yes, the approach road is difficult, but going on past comments is being looked at. We did struggle to get off when the road was a bit damp, as did 2 other visitors that day (so glad it wasn’t just us), but Joolz was so willing to help and towed us all off (with the help of friendly neighbour) and helped us so much with our reversing which we needed. Despite all the problems and the wobbly legs at the end, we will without doubt be returning and are already looking forward to it. Don’t let the approach put you off!!!

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments Fiona…it was certainly a memorable day for all of us! So glad you are planning to revisit, it was a real pleasure to meet you and your family. See you again in 2017! 🙂

  5. Have stayed here twice now, having just returned from a four night stay. Cannot fault the site, so easy to set up as is fully serviced, and the views are to die for. We have a dog and there are so many wonderful walks from the site and nearby, and so much to do locally. We tow with a Toyota Hylux, so the approach drive was not an issue for us, but others with cars also seemed to manage with no difficulty. I really wouldn’t let this put you off, or speak to the owners if concerned first. Not sure due to work commitments when we will make it back, but we most definitely will be returning! Thank you for creating such a wonderful place to stay.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Carolyn! We always love to see repeat bookings so we know people feel at home here…hope to see you again soon!

  6. Well just arrived home after spending 6 nights at Tax Farm CL.Tim & Joolz you should be very proud of the work you have done and what you have achieved .you have created a little gem of a CL. The views are stunning and it’s location is excellent to visit lots of places and local attractions.The pitches are huge and fully serviced ,what more can you ask for.The entry road from the A6 (Dimple Road ) did not phase us at all and neither did the steep drive into the CL,we got up fine,no problem .So all that is left to say is a big WELL DONE and good luck for the future.
    Brian & Jo
    Oswestry ,shropshire.

    • Brian and Jo, Thank you so much for your lovely comments… it was a real pleasure to meet you both and really pleased you had such a lovely break! It makes it all worth while when we get feedback like this! Thank you so much again and hope to see you again in the future.

  7. We had a fabulous few days at Tax Farm – amazing location and views to die for. We have a large motor home (8. 5 metres) and the pitches were so large we could park sideways to fully enjoy the view. Hard standings with water, electricity and waste area – thanks to owners Tim and Joolz for being so helpful and friendly – we will be back

    • Thank you so much for your lovely was wonderful to see you enjoying your break and making the most of the location. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay..despite the weather! We look forward to welcoming you back again next season.

  8. Fantastic site and facilities. We wanted to stay longer but it was fully booked. We were unable to tow the caravan up from the bottom tier I think not just because it is a steep incline but was very wet. We did manage with assistance from over guests who pushed the van from behind.
    We will be staying again but will try to book the top tier of pitches as the hill is not as long or steep from there. It must have been the heavy rain causing slippage I think because my 2.2 diesel sanguine korando 2wd should have coped under normal conditions. I guess we could ask owners to tow us off next time.
    Pitches are fully serviced and ehu is good. They are very level and spacious. It must be 16amps as nothing tripped.
    Well done to the owners. Great CL

    • Thank you very much for your lovely comments! Definitely let us know if you struggle again we will be more than happy to tow you to the top ..we always offer this service if any guests are worried. Bravo to your fellow guests though for helping you off! The weather has been horrendous and it does wash down gravel on the lane so would have been particularly slippy …really hope your next visit involves some warm sunshine! Thank you again and see you soon.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s