Reviews and Testimomials

 Wanted to congratulate you on your fabulous CL. Always a concern when booking ‘blind’, but your site exceeded even the glowing website description. Been vanning for ages and Tax Farm is one of the best, pitch amenities, location, hosts and views to die for.
I’ve attached a few more photos for use on your website, if you so wish.
Hope the celebrations go well and we’ll definitely be back again in the not too distant future, if we can get a pitch😉.

Have just returned from 4 nights, such a nice place to stay, the views were outstanding, yes the approach road to each level is steep but worth it. Minimal leveling needed due to the hard work done by the owner to make things easy for you. Very well thought out pitch, and a very friendly owner. We are regular visitors to the area and this is by far the best site we have found and will be coming back. 

We have just returned home from a very relaxing stay at Tax Farm CL. We only live 20 minutes down the road but could have been a world away. The two tiers of pitches on the hillside have beautiful wild flower meadows above and below the pitches. Cornflowers, daisies and poppies visible from all windows of our motorhome. Commanding views over Two Dales and Darley Dale, with Stanton Moor rising above the Derwent Valley in the middle distance. On the horizon we had views as far as Friden and Newhaven…..stunning. The walk down the valley from the site takes in lakes, woods, waterfalls and even a hidden cave. Across the lane above the site are more lovely walks in the Forestry Commission Matlock Moor plantations.

We stayed here for 5 nights in August, and we really did not want to leave. We live very close to it, so we will be returning as often as we can.

Great little 5 cl site. Great pitches with water tap and grey waste. We went for the weekend with 2 dogs, we loved the walk down to the water fall, and found a cave and just love exploring all the paths at the bottom of the farm. After getting back up the hill lovely to have a drink and bar-b-q. Such a quiet site we will be back.

“Little corner of bliss, tucked away in the Derbyshire countryside, fantastic retreat for the weekend just wish i could keep it secret. Each pitch has own water tap and grey water waste so no need to mess about with aqua roll or waste master, if you don’t already have one get the water connection required for your van and a 4 or 5 metre length of waste pipe and the rest is history,
On each of the two tier are points for chemical toilet disposal along with rubbish bins it does not get any more convenient ! Getting there is fairly simple but do try and approach from the north of the site past Darwin forest country park otherwise there are some steep roads to conquer !
Once one site you will marvel at the view across the valley to the west and the setting sunset.
Just a short walk from the farm drive is a wonderful walk down to natural waterfalls and dams, on from there is the rest of Derbyshire to explore ”

We visited this CL for the first time during April 2016. An excellent site with outstanding views, in fact you can see for miles over Derbyshire. The site is a good location for easy access to many local beauty spots. Mrs Wright, the owner, is very friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. This is a very nice CL.

Just enjoyed a long weekend at Tax Farm. A newly opened and well thought out CL with level hard standing pitches on two terraces enjoying stunning views. Each pitch is larger than average, with individual water points and waste water drains. I understand that electric points are to be installed next year. It’s almost a pity that this site is so good, and that it will inevitably become very popular as it gets better known. We were lucky to have it all to ourselves for the whole weekend!! Well done to the very friendly and accommodating owners. We will definitely return.

” The photos do it justice showing a wonderful view. The pitches are laid out as two together, and then three together down a hillside. The pitches have been levelled and are VERY spacious and with hardstanding. My four dogs were VERY welcome”.

We chose Tax Farm initially because we like to support new CLs.  When we looked at the website and saw what Joolz and Tim had done to construct their CL, we had to make a visit.  They have put a lot of thought into the facilities they offer – water and grey waste on each pitch, chemical disposal and dustbins on each tier.  Whilst no having electricity is not a problem for us, we can understand why they are planning to install it in the future.

Tax Farm is convenient for Bakewell (market day on Monday), Chatsworth House, Matlock and Matlock Bath, Buxton and Crich Tramway Museum.  It is also good if you are into star gazing – Joolz is a real enthusiast!  The views are stunning. We will definitely be back again.

What a gem.
We have just spent a long weekend on this little CL. The owners are so helpful. We have a large 5th Wheeler and they went and measured the pitches and made sure we could get on before we booked.
Do follow the given directions! The roads are busy and narrow with parked vehicles.
For a CL the facilities are luxurious. EHU, water, and waste for each pitch. Waste and chemical disposal on each tier. Do what it says on the tin and make sure you know which tier and pitch you are on before arrival. There is limited turning space if you get it wrong.
The views are amazing, even in the rain and when it stops raining the sunset is breathtaking.

14 thoughts on “Reviews and Testimomials”

  1. Janet Jordan said:

    We are coming to stay on your beautiful CL on Saturday…for a whole week! Can hardly wait! See you soon Joolz and Tim. Janet & Mick

  2. Mark Kinsey said:

    Just stopped the weekend of the 13Th & 14th of May, What can I Say simply super, The CL has outstanding views, Lovely to meet Joolz and her husband after so long, Clifford the Dog came for a visit on Saturday evening, The walk down and past Tax cottage and past Fancy Dam was glorious, what an amazing well kept secret, Would we book again OMG yes will be inquiring when we can come next, And the price per night, best CL value in the country 🙂 :):) Book now before this place gets too popular otherwise you just won’t get in , Thanks again Joolz simply and wonderfully fabulous,
    See you soon Mark and Clare. Been back a few hours and can’t stop Talking about your CL Deffo be back soon

    • Thank you very much for your kind words! It really is a pleasure when we hear our visitors have really enjoyed their stay…makes our day!
      Look forward to seeing you again. Joolz and Tim.

  3. Mr StephenMcQuillam said:

    I have to say all good comments above, But the road down to the site is not the best by far, as it is very steep and full of holes which has been filled with concrete and not level at all. The pitches are made up of Type one hard core and is very bad under foot as some of the stones are too large. BUT say this the view is something else, it is outstanding. My wife did have a chat with the farmer and he is going to work on the pitches.

    • Hi Stephen,
      Thank you for your feedback. We are addressing the lane and the loose stone as Tim discussed with your wife , see our latest blog post for updates. We do advertise the lane as being a steep approach and show as many pictures and videos as we can so there are no surprises but we understand this is still a bit daunting for some of our visitors and have happily towed some off this year, if required! The lane does get plenty of wear and tear as we are a working farm but we are endeavoring to rectify this as we recover some of the investments we have already outlaid providing fully serviced pitches , waste on each level and level terracing. The hard-standing medium is chosen to blend in with the natural surroundings and it is only the constant use that has churned up the large stones to make it uneven. As it is our first season , we are hoping this is just teething problems and all large stones brought to the surface will be removed and gone for good!
      Hope this addresses some of your worries…and glad you enjoyed the view!

  4. Thank you so much for one of the best sites we have stayed on. Our initial worries of getting down to the site were allayed by Joolz and after a few scouting visits we were sure we would make it!! Although we have had our caravan for a few years we are still extreme novices especially when it comes to reversing. The views from all the caravans are to die for and although we only live in Chesterfield we are sure we will visit again and again, just to experience the peace and tranquillity the site offers. Yes, the approach road is difficult, but going on past comments is being looked at. We did struggle to get off when the road was a bit damp, as did 2 other visitors that day (so glad it wasn’t just us), but Joolz was so willing to help and towed us all off (with the help of friendly neighbour) and helped us so much with our reversing which we needed. Despite all the problems and the wobbly legs at the end, we will without doubt be returning and are already looking forward to it. Don’t let the approach put you off!!!

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments Fiona…it was certainly a memorable day for all of us! So glad you are planning to revisit, it was a real pleasure to meet you and your family. See you again in 2017! 🙂

  5. Have stayed here twice now, having just returned from a four night stay. Cannot fault the site, so easy to set up as is fully serviced, and the views are to die for. We have a dog and there are so many wonderful walks from the site and nearby, and so much to do locally. We tow with a Toyota Hylux, so the approach drive was not an issue for us, but others with cars also seemed to manage with no difficulty. I really wouldn’t let this put you off, or speak to the owners if concerned first. Not sure due to work commitments when we will make it back, but we most definitely will be returning! Thank you for creating such a wonderful place to stay.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Carolyn! We always love to see repeat bookings so we know people feel at home here…hope to see you again soon!

  6. Well just arrived home after spending 6 nights at Tax Farm CL.Tim & Joolz you should be very proud of the work you have done and what you have achieved .you have created a little gem of a CL. The views are stunning and it’s location is excellent to visit lots of places and local attractions.The pitches are huge and fully serviced ,what more can you ask for.The entry road from the A6 (Dimple Road ) did not phase us at all and neither did the steep drive into the CL,we got up fine,no problem .So all that is left to say is a big WELL DONE and good luck for the future.
    Brian & Jo
    Oswestry ,shropshire.

    • Brian and Jo, Thank you so much for your lovely comments… it was a real pleasure to meet you both and really pleased you had such a lovely break! It makes it all worth while when we get feedback like this! Thank you so much again and hope to see you again in the future.

  7. We had a fabulous few days at Tax Farm – amazing location and views to die for. We have a large motor home (8. 5 metres) and the pitches were so large we could park sideways to fully enjoy the view. Hard standings with water, electricity and waste area – thanks to owners Tim and Joolz for being so helpful and friendly – we will be back

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments..it was wonderful to see you enjoying your break and making the most of the location. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay..despite the weather! We look forward to welcoming you back again next season.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s